Stage One: Acceptance

I’ve loved video games since my childhood and as much as I enjoy a good film, book or TV show nothing has ever quite compared to sinking my teeth into a good video game. Growing up I didn’t have a whole lot of games, I didn’t even know much about new releases. Instead I was quite content with shareware disks, passed on by my Grandad. They’d have quite happily kept me going forever.

tumblr_m3ttpaikCy1qgwq8qo1_1280
Simpler times, good old shareware!

As I grew up and became more aware of new games releases I’d look enviously at all the new releases on the shelf and envisage the day I could play whatever I wanted. I’d have to save for weeks, months even to afford a new game and once I bought it I’d play it to death. Before you get the tiny violin out though it really wasn’t that bad, sure I only got to play a handful of games but I could cherry pick the ones I really wanted to play and replaying them allowed me to appreciate and enjoy them like I rarely do with games today. If you’d told me growing up that one day I’d have a library of close to 1500 video games to play then I’d have been ecstatic. Heck, I’d have probably settled for 15!

Yet here I am, with a library which spans generations of systems, ranges from AAA blockbusters to small indie titles and spans over 30 years of gaming. Yet ecstatic isn’t quite the word I’d use to describe it, in fact the word overwhelmed would probably be more appropriate.

So how did it come to this?

Buying a gaming PC and getting Steam certainly didn’t help. The prospect of games which could be bought for less than the price of a Freddo, and all at the click of a mouse? Brilliant! Or so I thought…

pyhq5rT
65p? The bloody cheek!

The Steam sales were where it all began, they came at me thick and fast and the purchases began to mount up. My thought process was a simple one, it would be rude of me not to buy a once £40 game when it was available for a fraction of the price. Then came the bundles, 10 games for just £4 on a humble bundle deal? Amazing! It didn’t even matter if I only wanted a couple of them, it was incredible value for money. Even better, I was donating the money to charity!

humble-bundle-logo
Bane of my life

In time Steam morphed into it’s own monster, it was no longer a vessel to contain my games but it instead almost became the game itself. I’d find myself buying games in order to complete a series, it didn’t even matter if I’d not played the first game yet, I’d still buy the rest! The sense of getting a complete set became a thrill in itself. I was still playing games of course but I was buying them at a far faster rate than I could play them, let alone complete them.

It didn’t end there though, soon I found myself doing the same with consoles, bulking up my libraries and completing games series’. Of course the advantage of a physical library is that you soon run out of space and thank god or we’d be looking at a far larger amount of games in that first paragraph!

download
The horror, the horror!

Now it might still not be sounding all that bad but having so many unplayed games began to become intimidating. I couldn’t enjoy playing a new game because the weight of my backlog was pulling me down. If I went back to replay an unfinished game I’d feel guilt because I wasn’t spending time working on my backlog, it reached the point where it was spoiling my enjoyment of games altogether but of course I’d still buy them if a bargain popped up.

As the title says, stage one is acceptance. Accepting that my game buying habits have got a bit out of control and that instead of buying game after game I should actually take my time to enjoy those I already own.

So why this blog? Well, I’ve always enjoyed writing and I see it as a great chance for me to keep track of what I’m playing and also share my experiences as I do.  I hope you’ll join me and enjoy the journey!

James

Leave a Reply

