Stage Three: Plan of Action

Even taking into consideration any games that wouldn’t count it was pretty clear what a monumental undertaking this would be. The sheer amount of hours put into perspective just what an enormous hole I had dug for myself. I’d bought games because they were cheap and I intended to get round to them eventually, unfortunately the sheer quantity of games I’d purchased made it unlikely that I’d ever get round to them all.

It didn’t take me long to realise that completing them all wasn’t going to happen. Life demands more hours than I was ever going to be able to give to this library, sure if I didn’t buy anything for the next couple of years I might have a fighting chance but did I really want to give up on playing anything that would come out in the next few years? Not on your nelly.

It was at that point that I had something of a lightbulb moment. I didn’t need to complete everything in my backlog, I just needed to play them to some extent.

light-bulb-moment
Illustrated with the finest clipart

I figured that in the case of most games you can usually tell whether or not it’s worth sticking with during the first hour, some in even less than that. As such I set myself a target, play everything on my Steam library for between 30 minutes-1 hour. If I like it then carry on, if I don’t then I can ‘retire’ it and move on to the next thing. I figured that I could make an exception to this role for games where it became immediately clear that I couldn’t persist with them (such as games with horribly dated mechanics) or simply for games that didn’t work properly.

Still, the issue referred to in my previous post still applies, when you climb a mountain where exactly do you start?

hwltb

Yeah, probably not there. 300 hours? Not going to happen, if I start there I’ll still only be one game deep in 6 months. Of course in some respects you have to wonder if you can really truly beat a strategy game such as Rollercoaster Tycoon, some strategy games have a story but many others can be played indefinitely. The next on the list aren’t a whole lot more promising either, over 100 hours per Elder Scrolls game? Not any time soon! Maybe the other end of the list is worth a look instead?

hwltb2

Okay, now that’s a heck of a lot more doable. 12 minutes? 25 minutes?! I might even manage a couple a day at that rate! I love Half-Life 2 so Lost Coast seemed a good place to start, particularly seeing as I have since learned that it’s one of the most owned (but also most unplayed) games on Steam.

If you feel like you’ve heard me ramble about this project long enough then you can breathe a sigh of relief. Thought process in place I’m ready to start my backlog conquest.

Leave a Reply

