Stage Two: Where to begin?

I’m not much of a climber but the one time I tried I found it to be a fairly clear cut progress. I started at the bottom and I worked my way up. It was bloody hard work admittedly, even more so once I reached the steeper parts and my fear of heights started to kick in but even so, I knew what I had to do.

This mountain on the other hand is not quite so clear, after all – where the hell is the bottom?

EverestfromKalarPatarcrop
Where’s the top?

I figured that before I started even thinking about clearing my backlog I should probably plan out the journey ahead and figure out just how long it was going to take me. This is where the bloody brilliant website How Long to Beat came in. If you’re in the same boat as me and you’ve found yourself with a seemingly insurmountable backlog then this website is a god send.

It lets you enter every single game you own including the format on which you own it, it allows you to filter by system and by how long it takes to complete the game (based on the averages of users who’ve entered their own times). Even better, if you have Steam it allows you to import your entire Steam Library across automatically which probably saved me a good few hours (which could be better spent doing something useful…like working on my backlog!)

So I did that, I entered everything. Games in Steam, other clients such as Origin and all my console games going as far back as the NES and the Master System. I then entered all the games I’d definitely completed so as to remove them from the equation.
So what was the damage?

overall

Turns out the rabbit hole goes pretty deep. According to this it would take me 74 days and 12 hours to complete the single player mode of every game I have ever owned. Purely in hours that’s 1,788 hours. In real terms I might manage to average 2 hours a day of gaming across a week, in a good week, meaning that it would take me approximately 128 weeks of gaming to beat my backlog. Or close to 2 1/2 years, that’s assuming that I don’t add to my backlog in that time.

The word ‘screwed’ springs to mind.

Now I figured that the final figure probably isn’t quite as bad as all that, some games in my backlog are games that I’ve bought for nostalgia’s sakes and will probably never play to completion (such as the original Tomb Raider), others are games that I maybe own multiple versions of (console/pc versions, remasters etc.) and others are games that technically can’t be completed (sports games, racing games etc.). Even so, it’s a bloody big list and the prospect of even tackling it is quite intimidating. It was at this point that I realised I was going to need some sort of strategy…

Leave a Reply

